PDA

View Full Version : Patriots Camp Update

bostonguy
08-07-2008, 09:04 PM
http://www.patriots.com/news/index.cfm?ac=latestnewsdetail&pid=33118&pcid=44

We received this in “Ask PFW” and even though it wasn’t a question, we thought we’d post it to get Patriots Nation fired up for the 2008 season.

Mr. Robert Kraft. My name is Dick Goodwin. Born in Newburyport, Massachusetts in 1942. I have been a professional football fan and supporter since way before the Patriots came into existence. But when they did start in 1960, I immediately became a Patriots rooter. I suffered through the Billy Sullivan years - and beyond. But at least we had a team. And in those early years, the Patriots (the Boston Patriots in those days) were at least a decent team in a subpar league. They regularly contended for the championship, although San Diego (with Keith Lincoln and Paul Lowe) usually beat them. After that, the Patriots seemed to sink into mediocrity (or worse). True Patriots fans truly suffered (although a true fan never leaves - no matter how bad). I actually witnessed a Patriots punter missing the ball on a punt - no pressure - he just missed the ball. I have never seen that before or since. There was more - a lot more. If you travel through those bad days, you can appreciate all the more how wonderful the Patriots, and the whole Patriot organization is in these days.