PDA

View Full Version : Getting work in the USA for a sporting organisation

NuGGeTs-FaN
08-21-2008, 11:53 AM
As some of you know, i'm in Africa now but my wife and I are heading home next year. We are thinking about moving to the USA. My wife is a nurse/midwife and can get work pretty easy in the USA and can get greencards for us both at the same time.

If we move there, then i want to work for a sporting organisation in the NBA or NFL. I have a business degree with majors in Marketing and Ecommerce.

I thought id just post here and find out if any ST posters work in a sporting organisation in the USA. I'm curious as to what it is like and how easy/difficult it is to get work for a sporting organisation.

I love sports and so i figure getting a job in any area that im passionate about would be the best thing :toast

If anyone can give some input or advice then it would be very much appreciated :toast

oh, i realise i would have to start using US spelling (eg organiZation instead of organiSation :lol)

Buddy Holly
08-21-2008, 12:00 PM
Well, where are you moving to?

ashbeeigh
08-21-2008, 12:02 PM
I saw this in the paper today:

Spurs Sports & Entertainment will host its first career fair on Sept. 13 at AT&T Center from 3-6 p.m.

A number of organizations will be represented, including the San Antonio Spurs and Houston Rockets.

SS&E officials say professionals from several Texas sports franchises and the WNBA will gather in San Antonio and provide a unique opportunity for individuals looking to break into the sports industry.

The job fair will feature opportunities and information in various sports fields, including advertising, broadcasting, business, communications, finance/accounting, hospitality, journalism, management, marketing, public relations and sales.