PDA

View Full Version : Taxes, the Economy, Healthcare, and Iraq

KenMcCoy
09-05-2008, 03:06 PM
Hi, I've been lurking on ST for about two years now and am finally putting in my .02.

Taxes and it's effects on the economy

While I fall under Obama's definition of middle class and would receive the benefits of his proposed tax cuts for the middle class I have to agree with McCain on this one. Cutting business taxes is the only way to stimulate the economy and create new US based jobs.

I work as a tax advisor for a large international company based in central Texas and see the effects of (and make decisions on) business taxes as it relates to jobs and local economies everyday. The tax burden currently placed on US businesses is one of the highest in the world and directly affects a business' bottom line. We continually have meetings and discussions on how to minimize the company's taxes and unfortunately that normally means moving jobs outside of the country. Cutting business taxes not only creates the possibilities for more jobs at a large company, it creates numerous opportunities for small businesses that are direct vendors for the company and indirect vendors for the company's employees (i.e. - restaurants, dry cleaners, and other stores opening near the large business to cater to the employees). Examples of these economies can be seen in San Antonio; Toyota chose San Antonio because of the tax packages that were offered to it but the mere mention of a large company going to the south side revitalized business on that side of town which created more jobs.

Healthcare

More government intervention is not needed in order for everyone to be able to have access to affordable healthcare. Good old American capitalism is what is needed.