PDA

View Full Version : A hard question for Republicans.

RandomGuy
09-10-2008, 09:42 AM
The first four years of the Iraq war were arguably fought bravely by our troops.

BUT

The non-tactical side of the house, as far as policy and the goals/aims/administration of Iraq went was arguably bordering on the criminally negligent, if not well over that line.

Any decision to send troops into battle can and will lead to troops losing their lives. I understand that. But if you fall down on your sacred duty to do your utmost to make good decisions, and it is so obvious that you didn't. I have to ask this The Hard Question:

How many of our troops needlessly died because of the way the war was run at a policy and strategic level by the Bush administration?

I am going to get horribly flamed for this, but as a vet, I really have to wonder if our servicemembers were really led by people who couldn't find their ass with both hands. The more you dig into this the worse it looks at all levels. It isn't just political hacks with axes to grind pointing things out either.

I think the weight of evidence supports the assertion that this war was run incompetantly for four years. I can provide plenty of evidence to support this.

If you want to reject this assertion and therefore The Hard Question, you WILL have to prove that the war was run in a fairly competant manner. This also involves proving that the change in tactics/policy/strategy that led to the sucessful surge wasn't really needed. Because if the war was being run well, why change tactics?

What I expect die-hard Republicans to do:

Attack me personally.
Dismiss all the evidence I will present as somehow wrong out of hand. (this is highly illogical)
Generally not answer the Question.

Because if the answer to The Hard Question is ANY number greater than zero, you would be forced to admit that Bush failed in a sacred trust, and that would require a very high level of intellectual honesty.

101A
09-10-2008, 09:51 AM