PDA

View Full Version : Concerning the Bailout, why wouldn't this work?

Thunder Dan
09-26-2008, 11:40 AM
First, I'm not an expert and haven't been keeping up with is minute by minute. I understand what is going on, and I have feelings on both sides. I have an economics degree so I know about what is going on. I thought about this this morning in that haze when you first wake up and sometimes have some good ideas.

I think one of the major issues holding it up is how tax payers would be repaid for the loan. If there are 302 billion people in America, assuming 250 pay tax (just stay with me here) so that is under $3 a person in this bailout.

So my idea: why not issue $10 bonds that are tax deductible that can be called in a minimum 5-7 years (or later) depending on the profitability of the bank at that time (like a share of stock) These bonds would be optional, but because they are tax deductible they will be more attractive. This way people can give the money themselves, and the government wouldn't have to flip the bill. Also, the only way the government has to pay the $700 billion would be back to the bondholders if the banks fail. Obviously there would need to be some wrinkles ironed out, but couldn't this work? I mean I'm only 24, but I would be willing to throw $50-$100 at it.

what do you think?

MannyIsGod
09-26-2008, 11:48 AM
Its not a loan. The banks need the liquidity from selling those assets NOW, not later so bonds aren't a realistic situation.

cool hand
09-26-2008, 11:49 AM
thunder dan don't convince yourself this is right....its not, period.

Thunder Dan
09-26-2008, 12:07 PM
Its not a loan. The banks need the liquidity from selling those assets NOW, not later so bonds aren't a realistic situation.