PDA

View Full Version : Any Road Bikers Here?

usckk
12-26-2008, 11:46 PM
I recently got a new road bike, but I am a novice.

Any tips?

Vinnie_Johnson
12-27-2008, 12:06 AM
http://www.active.com/Assets/Cycling/Roadrash.jpg

Try not to fall down.:toast

balli
12-27-2008, 12:12 AM
Recreation, competition or commuter usage?

usckk
12-27-2008, 12:15 AM
Just recreation and commuter.

Also, besides a helmet, is there other essential accessories I need to purchase?

balli
12-27-2008, 12:26 AM
Just recreation and commuter.

Also, besides a helmet, is there other essential accessories I need to purchase?
I'm not a pro or anything close, but I commute by bike and the best advice I can give you will sound trite, but it's beyond true: Watch out for cars. Never assume they do or will see you. I've been bumped twice, both times when people were making right turns while I was in their blind spot. Neither was fast or serious at all, but they could have been and yeah... just be paranoid about cars.

Padded bike shorts or your ass will be sore as fuck the first couple weeks you're consistently riding. Probably will be anyway, but padded shorts help. Mini-pump and extra tubes. Tire repair tool. I'd pick up a Camelback unless you want to die come summer. In the winter, I wear snow gators with my pants as to keep them free from the chain. If you're going to be on the bike a lot it might be worth it to get a pair of bike gloves.

ChumpDumper
12-27-2008, 01:38 AM
Helmet, biking shorts (loose or tight, doesn't matter), flat kit and pump, gloves, clipless pedals.

usckk
12-28-2008, 09:17 PM
Thanks!

How about technique-wise? Like bike fitting..etc..?

phyzik
12-29-2008, 01:18 AM