PDA

View Full Version : Rumor: Jermaine O Neal on the way out in Toronto

layupdrill
12-30-2008, 01:16 PM
The World Famous Layup Drill RumorMill
12/30/08
Word leaked out over the weekend that the Celtics were looking at bringing in Joe Smith to the fold, either by trade or if he was bought out from the OKC Thunder. Now it seems other teams in the East are interested as well. The Toronto Sun reports that Joe Smith may be the most coveted veteran forward since….Antonio McDyess about six weeks ago. Interest in Miami, Orlando, and Toronto has been expressed for the former number 1 overall pick out of Maryland. Unlike Boston, the Thunder may get more in return for Smith via a trade from the Magic or Raptors. Stay Tuned…
Toronto may be interested in trading for Joe Smith because Jermaine O’Neal could be on the trading block. The Oregonian is reporting today that Toronto may be ready to give up on the O’Neal/Bosh front line experiment. When asked about the possibility of a trade, O’Neal said to reporters, “I don’t worry about that stuff.” What team would possibly look at bringing the veteran whose skills seem to be on the decline? Quite a few according to insiders, even though some will be scared off by O’Neals bloated $44 Million dollars owed over this season and next. It’s amazing to think at one time(Summer 2007), two of the three best teams in the league(Cavs and Lakers) were willing to give up draft picks and multiple players to Indiana for O’Neal. Now, the Raptors will be lucky to get a first round pick or an expiring contract of an equally overpaid player.