PDA

View Full Version : Texas Basketball: Sittin' with Syd

alamo50
03-09-2005, 06:36 PM
Senior guard Sydmill Harris, the first European-born player in UT basketball history, has been a mainstay for the Longhorns on the court for the past three-plus seasons. Harris has also been the resident comedian in the Texas locker room during this time. A wordsmith by trade (he is fluent in five languages) and a skeptic by nature, Harris can always find an opportune moment to inject a sarcastic or witty comment. Now, you can enjoy his humor and follow the senior's season as he shares a weekly diary with TexasSports.com.

http://www.texassports.com/images/mbbimages/2004_05/icons/04.sittingwithsyd.jpg

March 7, 2005

Hello Longhorns, it's your buddy Syd with finally another Sittin' with Syd installment.

Did you miss me? It has been a very busy couple of weeks - or however long it has been since the last time we sat together. My family came from The Netherlands to visit me; first my mother and brother, then my father came for senior night.

It is always pretty easy to entertain my brother because he is pretty much like me. He doesn't want to do anything. Finding something to do for my parents is a different story. It's not as hard when they're here at the same time, but having them here at different times can be tough. I can't take my parents to Sixth Street. You can only take someone to the mall so many times, even though there were great sales. Dillard's was having the best sale I ever encountered in all my years of frugality. Many items were an additional 50% percent off the already listed sale prices. So I went straight to the 75% off rack, which was now an extra 50 off! For those of you who are frugal, I know you are salivating right now, just as I did.