PDA

View Full Version : My Watchmen Review (beware spoilers)

peewee's lovechild
03-06-2009, 10:37 AM
- “Jon, everyone will die”

- “And the universe will not even notice”

I waited years for Watchmen to be made into a movie. I first read the graphic novel when I was a Freshman in High School. I thought it was brilliant when I first read it. I liked the concept of super heroes being all fucked up. I also liked how many of these super heroes made decisions for the public at large based on what they thought would be good for them.

I never thought it would be made into a movie until rumors started popping up about Terry Gilliam, Darren Aronofsky and others wanting to take a shot at the material. While I was excited about the prospect, Alan Moore pretty much killed the idea by saying that Watchmen was unfilmable.

Now, Moore always bitches about his properties being made into movies. While I agree with him on The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, I really liked From Hell and V for Vendetta. I think they, the directors, stayed true to the feel of the graphic novels. So, I didn’t know what to expect with Watchmen.

It appears Alan Moore was right.

After careful consideration since seeing the movie last night, I have to say that Snyder, while delivering a very solid movie, may have missed the mark on this one.

Now, I’m saying this with the point of view of someone how has read the graphic novel. And, before you go on to say that I’m one of those guys that screams “The book is better than the movie” and that I’m just a petty little fanboy . . . hear me out.

There’s quite a bit of stuff that’s missing or completely changed in the movie. This isn’t little stuff either. It isn’t like a certain character’s hair was different or a certain character didn’t say one of my favorite lines. No, not at all . . . there are certain things missing and changed that are of great consequence. I’ll get to that in a bit.