PDA

View Full Version : Short Selling Stocks

Thunder Dan
03-13-2009, 04:07 PM
I'm trying to wrap my head around this, can someone tell me if I'm right

So I would borrow $1,000 worth of a stock from a broker and immediately sell it back for $1,000...assuming the stock goes down, I make the difference in the fall of the stock minus the brokerage fees

So using Apple today (lost .44% or .42 cents) as an example

-I buy $1,000 worth yesterday at $96.35 giving me 10.378827 shares
-I then immediately sell them
-Now today when the stock went down I buy 10.378827 shares at the current price of $95.93 which costs me $995.64

so my profit (w/ brokerage fees) would be $1,000-995.64= $4.36 profit

is that it? I graduated with a Business degree oddly enough but finance and investments were my 2 weaknesses in school

CosmicCowboy
03-13-2009, 04:20 PM
OK...When you short a stock basically you pay a "rental" fee to "borrow" stock from a brokerage. This fee can vary depending on the length of time you "borrow" it. You then sell the stock in the hope that you can buy it back at a later date for enough less than you sold it for to cover the rental fee and still make a profit. If you guess wrong and the stock moves the other direction you not only pay the rental fee but have to buy the stock back for more than you sold it for in order to "cover" your short position.

RandomGuy
03-13-2009, 04:22 PM
http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/10/30/business/norris31.php

I Love Me Some Me
03-13-2009, 04:22 PM
I'm trying to wrap my head around this, can someone tell me if I'm right

So I would borrow $1,000 worth of a stock from a broker and immediately sell it back for $1,000...assuming the stock goes down, I make the difference in the fall of the stock minus the brokerage fees

So using Apple today (lost .44% or .42 cents) as an example

-I buy $1,000 worth yesterday at $96.35 giving me 10.378827 shares
-I then immediately sell them