PDA

View Full Version : Home Networking - for dummies

Bender
03-30-2009, 08:16 PM
I have 2 XP boxes working together correctly (sharing certain folders, and a printer).
However, I have a new laptop (Vista) and I want to get it networked with my XP box. I am a Vista noob (so far I hate it). The new laptop does print to my printer connected to one of my XP machines, so that works ok. Also, the laptop does find Shared Docs on my XP machine, but I don't use Shared Docs folders.

Anyway, what I want to do is make a folder on the Vista laptop seeable by my main XP desktop. What I have done so far, is mark "share" on the laptop folder. I went to my XP box and searched for network shares, but it did not find the laptop. It does find all other computers in the house though. What do I need to do?

ChumpDumper
03-30-2009, 08:41 PM
I don't have my Vista machine here, but I guess you can make sure you have the network type set to "home" in the Network Center instead of "public" or "work." That should make all the shared folders on the Vista machine visible to the other computers.

Cry Havoc
03-30-2009, 08:47 PM
Go into control panel, network status. Make sure network discovery and print sharing is turned on.

Bender
03-30-2009, 11:22 PM
thanks CD, I'll check that out tomorrow. Laptop is shut off for the night.

The vista laptop sees every other computer in the house ok (4 total), but other computers do not see the vista laptop, so you are probably right.

koriwhat
03-31-2009, 02:22 AM
at work we have a network that includes 2 xp machines and 2 vista machines. anyhow the machine i was wanting to share from was one of the xp machines... i had to change the permissions for the share folder to allow guest access not only in the share tab but also in the security tab(that was the issue). now that i did all that i moved on to the vista machine and bam! there were the folders i setup on the xp.

ChumpDumper
03-31-2009, 02:56 AM