PDA

View Full Version : Stock Options Question

Kori Ellis
05-06-2009, 04:31 AM
Since this is probably a better place to ask than the Club, I'd appreciate some help.

I don't know a lot about company stock options, since I have been freelancing for many years. However, I have been given the opportunity to buy stock options of a company that is currently not a public stock.

They told me I can buy up to 50,000 shares at a given price per share. They also gave me a vesting schedule (25% after one year and the other 75% split monthly over the next 36 months).

They aren't giving me the options in place of salary. This is just something additional they offered.

So anyway, I have some questions...

Does the money I invest just go into working capital for the company?

How is that price determined when the stock isn't public? How does it rise or fall since it's not on the stock market?

What happens if they do go public while I have the stock?

Any other insight on why/why not to do this.

Thanks,

Kori

Wild Cobra
05-06-2009, 05:32 AM
I've only had stock options once in my life, but it was with a company that was already public. If you are not required to commit to anything, the option is generally a no lose thing. In my case, I bought and sold my options the same day, making something like $20,000.

They gave you a price per share, right?

I'm out of my league here. I'm sure others will have some proper insight.

Winehole23
05-06-2009, 07:31 AM
c_g?

DarrinS
05-06-2009, 07:58 AM
If you really believe in this company and think it has a bright future, it's probably a good investment if you're getting them at a reasonable price. The vesting schedule doesn't seem too out of line. Make sure you plan on being there a few years (at least) if you're going to invest in them. When they go public, the way they set the price is a bunch of smoke and mirrors (if you ask me). Maybe RandomGuy has some more insight into this.

ElNono
05-06-2009, 08:45 AM