PDA

View Full Version : Advice/Opinions needed

td4mvp21
05-25-2009, 02:39 PM
My major is English and my minor is currently Business. I plan to go to law school after I graduate in 2012. My intention is to try and get into the NBA business somehow, either has a player agent or hopefully work my way up to being a general manager or in some sort of management position. Regardless, I plan to concentrate on contract law once in law school (if possible). I would also consider working for a large firm straight out of law school, in the realm of corporate law. So, in summary, I'm intersted in entertainment law first and foremost, with corporate law second.

However, I don't really want to minor in Business. I want to minor in Chemistry. As to why, it's just personal preference. I do not have any intention of dealing with chemistry in a career, I just have a large personal interest in the subject. On the other hand, I think a Business minor would be helpful. My parents feel the same way; they want me to minor in Business. I feel like I owe their opinions a large degree of consideration in my decision, since they are paying for my college. They did tell me that the decision was ultimately up to me.

So what do I do? I am really torn. I'm going to be a sophomore next year and I want to make up my mind as soon as possible so I can start taking the classes I need to take and not waste time/money on classes that I do not need. Is having a Business minor really that big of a deal? I would much rather take classes in chemistry and I feel that I would apply more effort to chemistry classes because of personal interest in the subject. I just want opinions on what I should do. I could double minor but then I wouldn't be able to take some elective classes such as philosphy and statistics that I feel would help me on the LSAT/law school, without graduating late.

step up to the mike
05-25-2009, 02:49 PM