View Full Version : McDonald: Finley stays; big, tall task left for Spurs

Marcus Bryant
07-01-2009, 12:24 AM
http://www.mysanantonio.com/sports/spurs/Finley_opts_to_stay_with_Spurs.html

Finley stays; big, tall task left for Spurs

Jeff McDonald
San Antonio Express-News

Web Posted: 07/01/2009 12:00 CDT

The first piece of the Spurs' free-agent puzzle fell into place just before lunchtime Tuesday. That's when Michael Finley informed the team that he didn't want to be one.

Finley, 36, eschewed a second consecutive summer of free agency, exercising a contract option to stay in San Antonio that will pay him $2.5 million next season.

If the Spurs' next offseason move is a success, Finley probably won't wind up having to play center next season.

At the stroke of midnight in New York, which signaled open season on this summer's free agents, Finley — 6-foot-7 and a swingman by trade — officially became the fourth-tallest player on the Spurs' roster.

As this summer's free agency opens, this much is clear: The Spurs plan to do most of their shopping at the big and tall store.

The trade last week that brought in Richard Jefferson from Milwaukee also sent forwards Kurt Thomas and Fabricio Oberto packing. After Drew Gooden became a free agent Tuesday night, the Spurs enter July with just three big men under contract — Tim Duncan, Matt Bonner and Ian Mahinmi.

The good news for the Spurs is that they have options for filling out their frontcourt. Enough so that they didn't hesitate to pull the trigger on the Jefferson deal.

“There are more names at (the) four that we like than there are at the three, as far as free agents go,” Spurs coach Gregg Popovich said.

On the heels of perhaps their most successful June that didn't culminate with the raising of the Larry O'Brien trophy — adding Jefferson and drafting lottery-worthy talent DeJuan Blair in the second round — the Spurs are hoping for a July-August encore.