PDA

View Full Version : McDonald: Hill fits as Parker's stand-in

duncan228
10-08-2009, 01:21 AM
Hill fits as Parker's stand-in (http://www.mysanantonio.com/sports/spurs/Hill_fits_as_Parkers_stand-in.html)
Jeff McDonald

Earlier this week, Spurs players — all 18 of them — were engaged in a relatively benign ball-handling drill. Big men dribbled next to small men, and some better than others.

At one point, coach Gregg Popovich wandered over to tell one of those big men what a good job he was doing.

“He said, ‘I will never play you at point guard,'” recalled Matt Bonner, a 6-foot-10 center by trade. “In case there was any confusion, he let me know.”

Thankfully for the Spurs — and probably also for Bonner — the manhunt for a backup to All-Star Tony Parker probably won't go so far down the roster this season.

That job unquestionably belongs to second-year player George Hill, who after a strong summer and an even better start to training camp has made the Spurs' coaching staff feel much better about their No. 2 point guard than they did last season.

Popovich has been effusive in his praise of Hill, going so far as to label him, “my favorite player on the entire team.”

“He's really matured,” Popovich said. “At this point, I'm really pleased to have him as our backup point.”

Of course, it isn't as if there are many other reasonable alternatives.

Though backup point guard was a perpetual question mark for the Spurs last season — indeed, Popovich tried everybody but Bonner there — they made no effort this offseason to bring in other candidates.

Before camp even began, it was going to be George Hill or bust.

“He's got to be a backup point,” Popovich said, “or we're in big damn trouble.”

Hill's performance in this camp should help Popovich breathe a bit easier.