PDA

View Full Version : To Kelly Dwyer: Why KG is really hated

mogrovejo
04-20-2010, 02:27 PM
http://www.celticsblog.com/2010/4/20/1432771/to-kelly-dwyer-why-kg-is-really

As many of you know, I've never hidden the fact that Kevin Garnett is my favorite player and has been since the last millenium. Thus, it's not surprising that I didn't particularly enjoy Dwyer's article on why he is hated (http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/blog/ball_dont_lie/post/Why-we-don-t-like-Kevin-Garnett-any-more?urn=nba,235155). The thing is, as a writer myself, what irks me most about Dwyer's article isn't the conclusion (it's pretty much a fact that Garnett is more hated now than ever before), it's the laziness of Dwyer's reasoning and analysis. He essentially wrote an article that I could have taken from any of the many message board posters on any NBA board that starts off "I used to like KG, but now he's a ****...". And for a message board post, that's fine. But for someone like Dwyer, who purports to be an analytical writer on a mainstream outlet, it's very unsatisfying. It's like if he wrote an article saying that the Lakers were a great team because Kobe scores a lot of points. Yes, there are some hints of truth in there, but the actual story goes much deeper and if you take that extra step you get (to me) a more realistic conclusion.

My take on why KG is now hated? I'll give you a one-line answer, then I'll develop it. The short answer is: Garnett is unpopular because he angered some of the most rabid fan bases in basketball, and didn't have a strong enough fan base of his own to stem the tide. It's that simple. But for a more detailed look at how I got here, let's start by showing where Dwyer's piece comes up short then we can get more into what actually has happened in the last two years.