PDA

View Full Version : HEB school of retail management

gospursgojas
08-09-2010, 09:04 PM
http://www.heb.com/aboutHEB/careers-schoolRetailMgmt.jsp

Anyone got any insight on this program or have actually applied or gone through it???

I need a work industry change.

DMX7
08-09-2010, 09:08 PM
huh? Do you work for HEB or something?

Kori Ellis
08-09-2010, 09:08 PM
TheTruth (Matthew) is in management at H-E-B, I believe. You could private message him.

gospursgojas
08-09-2010, 09:11 PM
huh? Do you work for HEB or something?

nah just thinking about applying for something different than what Ive been doing for 7 years

TheTruth (Matthew) is in management at H-E-B, I believe. You could private message him.

Thanks Kori

fraga
08-09-2010, 09:35 PM
I believe you need to actually "work"...for H-E-B first...and than you can apply to be in the program...

Nathan Explosion
08-09-2010, 09:36 PM
You have to be an employee in a department to go to SORM. Usually a lead applies. S/he needs the recommendation of the Unit Director (head guy in a store) as well as pass an interview process. I think it's 2 interviews before you get in the program.

Then you go to training in classes, followed by training at a different store in your selected department. Then, with the blessing of your training manager, you're ready to become an Assistant Department Manager where you train some more. Usually in a bigger store.

When you're finally ready for your own store, you move to the bottom and get a small store with the intent of impressing your corporate boss enough to move you into a bigger, better store.

There's some work behind it.

Of course, if you have a degree and/or extensive management experience in a different company but with the same type of department, you can bypass that whole process and become a manager right away.