PDA

View Full Version : MBA - Is it worth it

Soul_Patch
08-12-2010, 02:07 PM
I am considering attempting to get an MBA through UTSA. I have about 10 to 12 years of professional experience in my field. I would like to parlay that into a project mgmt, or IS Mgmt type role.

My problems are 1, my undergrad degree is in psychology (lol)....and my GPA isnt that great.

Do you think trying to pursue an MBA is going to be worth it? Do you think getting an MBA from University of Phoenix online is worth it, or is it pretty much trash?

Venti Quattro
08-12-2010, 02:12 PM
If you're not into managing a company, don't. It's useless. Just take a master's degree related to your undergrad or your line of work.

Drachen
08-12-2010, 02:15 PM
I am working on mine at UTSA. The program is pretty good, and they also have a career services guy that has a lot of contacts at local, national, and international companies if you are looking to change employers. Because of your undergrad, you will likely have to take some leveling courses (up to 6 or so). As far as your undergrad GPA, that can only keep you from being accepted (in which case it only costs you the $45 app fee). The classes are all in the evening or on the weekend. (my fall is M & Th from 7-9:45, Sat from 9-5 every other week for 10 weeks (5 meetings). This is for 3 classes.

As far as UOP, you have two sides, one lumps in with all for-profits (career point, etc), the other side is that there are a lot of alums in high ranking positions (white house cyber-security coordinator for example). You take 1 class at a time, 6 weeks long, and its back to back to back to back until you finish.

If you can go full time to UTSA, they will both take you about the same amount of time.

I think what it boils down to for you, is your schedule, your time frame, and your abilities.

Soul_Patch
08-12-2010, 02:16 PM
Well isnt that what an MBA is? A Masters of Business Administration?