PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else here fish?

Brutalis
02-06-2011, 12:59 AM
I'm in the market for a new rod & reel. The boss lady put my budget at $100-200 range.

I mainly lake fish, always looking for bass.

Any suggestions? Figured I would get opinions.

4>0rings
02-06-2011, 01:04 AM
Bait cast or spin cast? What type of lures will you be using for bass?

Brutalis
02-06-2011, 01:10 AM
Bait caster, easier to maintain and keep clean IMO.

swimbait, surface swimmers, spinners mostly.

Last summer was my first year bass fishing. Self taught so it's been a learning experience. Got a few rock bass but with 4-6ft swimmers.

Slydragon
02-06-2011, 02:48 AM
I love fishing, I must admit I'm no where near a pro. I'm pretty much tie a weight and hook add some bait and throw. Last week I spent 220 on just tackle and to tell you the truth a pro fishermen may look at my gear and say wtf!!!

I try to keep it simple as it relaxes me and if I get all technical then it will not be as much for for me because I'll be to piss I don't have the best rod/reel or my knot is tied all wrong. Ill take tips and tricks but I try not to ponder on them too much.

To me its,
Simple = fun/relaxing
technical = frustrating/piss/more money in the long run

When I get technical I'm not happy ever because I will always want the newest/best and be mad I don't have it.

I used to fish once a week for 2 years solid and now I'm lucky if I can go once a month.

I used Spincast reels as it's easy for me and my girls when I take them along. I bought a new propane lantern (like to fish @ night) and new fishing chair along with this new tackle and tackle box and a casting net, I hope I don't catch a snake in this net...scary thing at night when it happen to me.

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/4157/16790416913445768141633.jpg

You live in Texas? if so go here for a lot of help/fishing reports/info.

http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbthreads.php

rascal
02-06-2011, 10:45 AM