PDA

View Full Version : anyone else into bringing classic autos back to life?

blizz
04-25-2011, 06:36 PM
here's my project....she runs ok, just has a lot of rust that needs to be cut out and replaced with good metal. after that it's gravy

72 K5

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5063/5647485880_663afce207_z.jpg

Dr. Gonzo
04-25-2011, 08:50 PM
Yeah I'm a real mechanic type. I work on cars.

PM5K
04-25-2011, 09:54 PM
That's a hobby I just can't afford. I'd love to otherwise.

TwAnKiEs
04-25-2011, 09:57 PM
I had a 1963 Mercury Meteor when I was 16. Let it go after a while cuz parts were too hard to find since it was only made 2 years :depressed

JoeChalupa
04-25-2011, 10:40 PM
I watch the car auctions on channel 131 on TWC and they have some beautiful vehicles from the past that simply rock.

rr2418
04-25-2011, 10:54 PM
A 1975 Dodge Charger ! That car kicked ass!!

blizz
04-26-2011, 08:14 AM
That's a hobby I just can't afford. I'd love to otherwise.

that's why it's taken me 4 years already to just put the top on..:lol

Frenzy
04-26-2011, 08:58 AM
I would but I don't know enough to restore a car. I wouldn't know whether to get the maya hoff lifters first or the Johnson rod..

Soul_Patch
04-26-2011, 09:18 AM
I would love to do it, if i had some space to work on them. Like a barn or something.

blizz
04-26-2011, 09:29 AM
I had a 1963 Mercury Meteor when I was 16. Let it go after a while cuz parts were too hard to find since it was only made 2 years :depressed
who is in yer sig??

Sportcamper
04-26-2011, 10:52 AM
K-5’s are nice restore 4x4’s…I like them more than the old Ford Broncos…There are lots of them in So Cal with no rust except for the door panels…There are several aftermarket online parts suppliers that have replacement panels for the door rust problems as well as an entire catalogue for factory spec parts…You can do the entire interior yourself…

http://www.chevytrucks.org/

CosmicCowboy
04-26-2011, 11:07 AM
Looks like a fun restore project...