PDA

View Full Version : Tell my boss I can take on more work?

GoodOdor
07-21-2012, 11:41 PM
Good folks of ST, I need some work related advice.

I've been at my job for 7 months now(I'm an accountant), and I feel like there are periods where I pretty much got very little to do.

Do I bring this up with my boss? my main concern is that it will seem like I've been slacking off this whole time.

VBM
07-22-2012, 01:03 AM
Nope.

GoodOdor
07-22-2012, 01:04 AM
Nope.

Why not?

cantthinkofanything
07-22-2012, 01:34 AM
You know why not. You got the right answer. So leave it be.

Udokafan05
07-22-2012, 01:35 AM
Yes, shows initiative

The Reckoning
07-22-2012, 05:17 AM
dont say you can take on more work...just ask if there are any major projects planned that they might need help with.

TDMVPDPOY
07-22-2012, 06:28 AM
u good at sucking dick?

have u thought about taking on extra jobs outside of the workplace? like doing tax returns or bookkeeping for a few businesses that doesnt take up most of ur free time?

VBM
07-22-2012, 08:01 AM
dont say you can take on more work...just ask if there are any major projects planned that they might need help with.

Yeah, this is a better way of going about it. You won't get overloaded but still get the whole initiative message out there.

resistanze
07-22-2012, 08:49 AM

This is the safe bet.

It depends on the relationship you have with your boss. I've been at my place for about a year and he has an open door policy to discuss anything. So I could explicitly ask for more projects without the fear of my boss dumping shit on me.

Your boss shouldn't think you were slacking off, that'd be a weird conclusion to draw. It should be clear that you were getting accustomed to your role at the company and now feel ready to take on more tasks. Make this point just in case.

GoodOdor
07-22-2012, 10:49 AM
Thanks for all the reply guys.

A little more info: