PDA

View Full Version : Bowen on Billups

Ghost Writer
06-24-2005, 12:59 PM
Take it from someone who has always been hard on Bruce and questioned Pop's moves... Coach Popovich saw how well Bowen guarded Billups in spots during the series and made the masterful decision to put his best perimeter defender on Billups for the majority of Game 7.

Bowen, for his part, shut down Billups, which stifled Prince and Hamilton and the Pistons in general.

Bowen's block on Billups sealed the deal.

And I believe that Bowen's 3 in the 4th quarter was the biggest make of the game.

Bill Walton and Tim Duncan both said that Popovich is the best coach in the NBA today.

You won't hear me b1tching about Bowen or Pop again.

Fo' real.

Kori Ellis
06-24-2005, 01:01 PM
GhostWriter finally sees in Bowen what I've been preaching for 3 years.

Congratulations.

Good Times©

timvp
06-24-2005, 01:01 PM
R.I.P. Eric Williams

:cooldevil

Marcus Bryant
06-24-2005, 01:03 PM
Nice.

Ghost Writer
06-24-2005, 01:10 PM
Yeah, but Bowen is not friggin' LeBron, either, people.

In the past, I didn't feel we could justify Bowen in there, because the rest of the team was not that good offensively.

Parker and Ginobili blossomed offensively and we brought in Horry and Barry to score, too.

Plus, I give credit to Bowen for improving his 3-point shot and discovering an adequate mid-range jumper.

You saw that Bowen was the first Spur player to thank Larry Brown for a great series.

Bowen opened my eyes this time around.

Marcus Bryant
06-24-2005, 01:16 PM
Ginobili has "blossomed" into an All-Star and by some accounts a, yes, "superstar"...

I thought the Spurs had no talent outside of Duncan last year?

Ghost Writer
06-24-2005, 01:30 PM
We did not have a complementary star for Duncan last year and that's why we didn't make it to the Finals.

This year, we had All-Star Ginobili helping Duncan, Barry to do what Turkoglu couldn't, and Horry did not have to face the Lakers.