PDA

View Full Version : Understanding the man, the myth, the legend: Gary Neal

Werdsniper2
12-14-2012, 03:02 AM
I was just beginning my freshman year at Towson University when I watched my first TU basketball game. It was an awful performance, an embarrassing loss. There was one guy who stood out from the crowd, however. His name was Gary Neal. I didn't know anything about Gary at the time. I was a college novice, an absolute newbie one might say. Just by watching the guy, he seemed like something special. The question swirling around my head however, was…is this guy legit?

I dove head first into google search results, looking for anything that might pertain to this "Gary Neal" that I had subsequently grown to love. The results were not overwhelming, to say the least. There were a couple of hits, of course. Most of them in regards to the now famous La Salle University rape accusation.

Like any other sports fan, I was at first suspicious of his acquittal on all charges. After all, a man is only as good as his word. But after delving deeper into the story than most others would, I found his interpretation of the nights events much more plausible than that of his apparent victim. It was at this point in time that I realized Mr. Neal himself was the victim, not the woman whom he allegedly raped.

After briefly pausing to analyze his personal life, I began to focus on Neal's athletic abilities; his stroke beyond the arc, his touch below the rim, his angle behind his floater. His skill set was seemingly simple. A shooters mentality with a few deft moves outside the rim. I knew he had great ability, I knew he could make it. There was one question that remained, however. Was this man mentally prepared for the NBA. After all, he was the #1 college player in points scored for the 06-07 season.