PDA

View Full Version : Job hunting tips

AussieFanKurt
01-31-2013, 07:18 PM
I graduated from a degree in psychology last year and moved cities out of want and currently looking for jobs. Seems to be a hard process. I have a degree and experience in fields I've been applying for (HR/recruitment) but been rejected by quite a few places. Talked to someone yesterday in recruitment who got her job with no degree or experience. I'm a bit confused by this. Is getting a good job sometimes luck? Do I need to put more effort into resume/cover letter?

:wakeup:wakeup

rascal
01-31-2013, 07:23 PM
If she is good looking that could explain it.

rogues
01-31-2013, 07:25 PM
:lol psychology..
:lol living in Australia and graduating from there with a psychology degree..
:lol living in Australia and graduating from there with a psychology degree and being jobless..

lefty
01-31-2013, 07:27 PM
I graduated from a degree in psychology last year and moved cities out of want and currently looking for jobs. Seems to be a hard process. I have a degree and experience in fields I've been applying for (HR/recruitment) but been rejected by quite a few places. Talked to someone yesterday in recruitment who got her job with no degree or experience. I'm a bit confused by this. Is getting a good job sometimes luck? Do I need to put more effort into resume/cover letter?

:wakeup:wakeup

Try in the IT industry

They always need recruiters

The problem with IT companies : not a lot of hot women TBH

GoodOdor
01-31-2013, 07:32 PM
Getting a degree in psychology is your first problem, tbh...

Read this blog - askamanager.com

Lots of useful advice regarding cover letters/resume/interview tips.

AussieFanKurt
01-31-2013, 07:46 PM
Try in the IT industry

They always need recruiters

The problem with IT companies : not a lot of hot women TBH

I'll try, thanks mate. No problems at no hot women, got a hot GF

Getting a degree in psychology is your first problem, tbh...

Read this blog - askamanager.com