PDA

View Full Version : Bilinguals

AussieFanKurt
02-20-2013, 10:33 PM
I'm studying French, I am pretty good at reading it and listening but speaking is tough. Any advice?

ashbeeigh
02-20-2013, 11:10 PM
Find a way to immerse yourself in the language. It's the only way I can keep up with my Spanish. If I'm out of it for even a few weeks I feel like I won't ever be able to speak it again.

Latarian Milton
02-20-2013, 11:22 PM
although im not bilingual (unless you count ebonics as a language) i still have some honest advice in how to improve your speaking skills tbh. you're good at reading it so you can just grab a book and read it aloud, confidence is also an important element for such tough tasks like learning a new language. you can speak it out aloud w/o giving a shit about how other people think of you. it'd be best if you can have a tour to france and stay there for a while, still the best way to learn a new language is spending a few months or years in that country imho

Captivus
02-20-2013, 11:31 PM
I'm studying French, I am pretty good at reading it and listening but speaking is tough. Any advice?

Whats the problem? You have to think the words before you say them? Dont remember the words?
I speak a Spanish, German, English, Italian (rusty now), and the best way to practice is to speak it (i know it sounds obvious). Get someone that speaks french and speak.
One think that also good, maybe not exactly for speaking is watching movies in other languages. Nowadays you can get a DVD and watch a movie in French, and even with French subtitles, and if you have already seen the movie its even better, because you what they are saying.

AussieFanKurt
02-20-2013, 11:42 PM
Yeah I thought this would be the answer, unfortunately I don't have any frog friends and won't be going to France again soon.. I guess I'll just try what Latarian and Captivus says.. I try and think of English word first then translate to French.. tough

Reck
02-21-2013, 05:21 AM