PDA

View Full Version : Great SI article on LK

Rummpd
05-17-2013, 04:15 PM
Leonard is technically a wing player by trade, but he transcends that position with his ability to defend point guards and best centers on the glass, becoming something transformational. San Antonio has some capable bigs that mesh well with the team’s aims, but each has their flaws and Duncan isn’t capable of logging heavy minutes at this stage in his career. He’s good for 36 minutes a night, but even that takes its toll; part of the reason why Duncan was pulled from Thursday’s game was because he looked a little worn down, so much so that he was making uncharacteristic mistakes and shorting makeable shots. Popovich undoubtedly relishes every opportunity that allows him to rely on Duncan less, and, in this particular series, Leonard provided just such an out. ....

According to NBA Wowy, in the 52 minutes that the Spurs played with Leonard on the court without Duncan (including that final few minutes of Game 6), they outscored the Warriors by 33.6 points per 100 possessions. That’s a blowout margin carried out in short bursts of playing time, possible in part because of the way that Leonard complements bigs like Splitter and Boris Diaw. The offense still funneled through Tony Parker in those scenarios, but Leonard played with maxed-out efficiency (including a 100 percent effective field goal percentage), assisted in San Antonio grabbing 28.6 percent of its own misses and alternated between guarding high-scoring wing players and post-up bigs.
http://nba.si.com/2013/05/17/kawhi-leonard-san-antonio-spurs-nba-playoffs-2013/?sct=uk_t11_a5

Splits
05-17-2013, 04:31 PM
Entire article is a fantastic read.

Gino-Step
05-17-2013, 04:42 PM