PDA

View Full Version : Pacers: Roy Hibbert credits Tim Duncan for Pacers' success against Miami..

HarlemHeat37
05-24-2013, 11:24 PM
Hibbert talked about his time working with future Hall of Famer Tim Duncan in San Antonio during the offseason.
“He taught me a lot of things, in terms of things I’m not comfortable with,” Hibbert said. “Like turning and facing, shooting off the glass and just working on things that are out of my comfort zone. He took me to dinner, we ate and talked, we chopped it up. He’s a real good guy.”

"Tim is a great guy I can talk to," Hibbert explained. "I met him when I was a kid at an All-Star game when I was a freshman in high school in D.C. and he remembered that time."

"I text him and I ask him how to play different big guys to help me with the little moves to get a little edge on guys," Hibbert said. "So he's just like a little voice in my ear and I keep in touch with him regularly."

"He gives me a scouting report," Hibbert explained. "He's been down that road, playing against all of these guys before, so he knows how to play them."

"Yeah, he tells me to use this foot or use this hand to shield guys off," Hibbert said. "So he tells me the small little things I can do for my game to improve."

“I worked out with Tim Duncan this summer,” Hibbert, who had 19 points and 18 rebounds in the contest, said. ”I model my game after him. Actually, he texts me after every game. I’m appreciative, and he’s somebody that looks out for me.”

“This summer I watched a lot of film and worked out with Tim Duncan for like two or three weeks at a time during the lockout,” Hibbert told SLAM. “I learned a lot from him. I talk with him on like a weekly basis, ask for scouting reports.”

He didn't directly thank Timmy, but Hibbert has said that Duncan has had a profound impact on his progression, and since Hibbert has been Indiana's best player in this series, it's fair to say that Duncan has been the reason the Pacers have a chance to win this series IMO..