PDA

View Full Version : Advice on moving..

DUNCANownsKOBE
06-17-2013, 07:30 PM
So yeah, I'm moving from Phoenix to Dallas as I've said before. It's either load up my car with as much as possible and buy what I can't bring when I get to Dallas (bed, couch, table, etc.) or find a way to move my old couch, bed, table, etc. cheaply enough where it makes sense. I'd prefer to do the latter since if I find a cheap way of moving that'll save me money and the hassle of going furniture shopping, but it'd be stupid to pay a moving company $1000 bucks when I'd spend around that much on new furniture.

I know Uhaul sounds like the obvious solution but I have no experience driving anything bigger than an SUV (not very much experience driving an SUV for that matter), let alone on a 1600 mile interstate drive. All the time driving from Tucson to Phoenix I see assholes driving a Uhaul on the I-10 who can't stay in their lane and have no business driving a truck and I'd be one of them.

I've heard of "tailgating" where you find a company that already has a truck going from Phoenix to Dallas and you can work out a lower price for them to take your stuff with since it's of little cost to them. Anyone have experience with that/know of companies where you can arrange that? Anyone with experience moving to another state have an idea that I didn't mention? Thank you and god bless.

Chris
06-17-2013, 07:37 PM
U-Haul is the way to go for long distance moving. They are the cheapest, and it's not difficult to drive one aside from the top winds moving you around a bit. Last time we moved you had to pay for the gas but it was a per day rental and it was very affordable.

DUNCANownsKOBE
06-17-2013, 07:39 PM
U-Haul is the way to go for long distance moving. They are the cheapest, and it's not difficult to drive one aside from the top winds moving you around a bit. Last time we moved you had to pay for the gas but it was a per day rental and it was very affordable.