PDA

View Full Version : Dang, one of my guys almost got killed today...

CosmicCowboy
07-09-2013, 04:15 PM
We weld elevator jacks for a couple of the elevator companies in town since I have a code shop and certified welders...one of my guys was in the pit on a big new construction job welding a 12" jack...he had just finished a section and moved around when some numbskull on the 6th floor dropped a piece of 6" pipe down the shaft...it went straight through a piece of 3/4" plywood he had been kneeling on and stuck straight into the ground right where he had been 30 seconds earlier...on a job like that all openings are supposed to be barricaded and toe boards installed so nothing can roll in...don't know what the fuck happened yet. That could have been very very ugly.

Big Empty
07-09-2013, 04:27 PM
gah DAMN you came close to being sued. drinks on you!

boobie4three
07-09-2013, 04:29 PM
I'm an industrial construction electrician and even with all the safeguards employed on a construction site, there's always going to be some schmuck that's going to get careless. Glad to hear your man is OK.

CosmicCowboy
07-09-2013, 04:29 PM
gah DAMN you came close to being sued. drinks on you!

Well, that wasn't my first thought but I have to admit it was the third or fourth. It would have been very ugly.

boutons_deux
07-09-2013, 04:36 PM
Don't lose sight of the big picture, lives of American workers are cheap

Work-Related Deaths Kill 150 Americans Per Day

More than 100 people in the United States die every day as a result of their work, according to a new report from the AFL-CIO.

The union found that about 4,693 workers were killed on the job in 2011 (http://www.aflcio.org/Blog/Political-Action-Legislation/Daily-Job-Death-Toll-150-Workers), and the Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates 50,000 workers per year die from work-related diseases. Combine those numbers and you get about 150 work-related deaths per day, the AFL-CIO report found.