PDA

View Full Version : Screenplay

Dre_7
07-19-2005, 09:09 PM
Well I have been pretty bored lately. And last night I had a dream and I am now "inspired" to write a screenplay. I have never done it before. I did wrtite a lot of short stories, and longer stories, and creative writing pieces in high school, but never in screenplay format. I dont have all the details of the screenplay, but I do have the main plot, characters, etc. So if anyone knows where I can get some info on "how to write a screenplay," or whatever, send the link my way.

Peace.

midgetonadonkey
07-19-2005, 09:13 PM
http://www.scriptologist.com/Magazine/Formatting/formatting.html

http://www.pubinfo.vcu.edu/artweb/playwriting/screenformat.html

There you go. I took screenplay writing at my university a couple of years back, and it is a lot harder than it seems. Good luck.

Dre_7
07-19-2005, 10:13 PM
Yeah it seems hard. But I will how it goes. If it doesnt go well, I will just turn it into a story.

BadlyDrawnBoy
07-19-2005, 10:18 PM
It's not hard.

It's a basic formula.

Act I
Act 2
Act 3

You have a protag and then you have a antag.

Act I - introduce the characters.

Act II - Insert the action that will be resolved in act III.

Act III - Resolve the problem.

BadlyDrawnBoy
07-19-2005, 10:19 PM
Also, basic screenplay is 120-150 pages.

Guru of Nothing
Try amazon.com or google.com.

Dre_7
Yeah but I plan on using a lot of flashbacks to childhood and other events. So it will be a lil different than just 3 acts.

Kori Ellis
07-19-2005, 10:23 PM
A tool that will help you with formatting, etc is a script software like MovieMagic or ScriptThing. When people turn in screenplays in Hollywood, they are usually formatted in one of those two softwares (or something very similar).

Jame Gumb
07-19-2005, 10:23 PM
Yeah but I plan on using a lot of flashbacks to childhood and other events. So it will be a lil different than just 3 acts.

Pssssst! it's called Pulp Fiction :smokin