PDA

View Full Version : Spurs vs Thunder WCF Game 5 Grades

05-30-2014, 12:18 AM
It's my first time doing grades, and it's around midnight at the time that I'm starting this post, so please bare with me if there are any grammatical errors.

I'll just get right to it...

Tony Parker:
Overall he played a solid game. After a slow, 1-5 start, I couldn't help but think he was going to be another no show. Thankfully, Tony had other plans. In the second quarter he was more aggressive, and after canning b2b jumpers he built up his confidence. He was attacking the paint relentlessly, and while not always finishing, he put a lot of pressure by getting in there. In the previous two games he was settling for jumpers, but when he penetrates, it opens up the offense tremendously. He got a little dribble happy at times, but I felt he ran the offense nicely. He even attempted to pass to kawhi on a fast break :lol Of course, the pass was deflected.

Defensively he was....meh. About what you expect from him nowadays.
B

Tim Duncan:
Another tough start for Timmy. He was posted up on Steven Adams twice and failed miserably. The post ups felt forced and out of sync with the offense, and once the Spurs went back to their motion/pnr offense, Timmy was often found in good position, and took advantage accordingly. Also a quiet 12 rebounds which put him just three double doubles behind Magic for first all time. Defensively he looked a lot more spry out there, unlike the previous two games where he seemed to be a step late everywhere. He got abused in the first by Reggie, but after that he had a good game defensively. Even had a block, but I forgot who it was on.
A-

Kawhi Leonard: