PDA

View Full Version : Parenting magazine entry.....

ObiwanGinobili
09-14-2005, 12:12 PM
Ok folks.
after a bit of badgering I have given into a demand to submit an article to Parenting magazine. I've never done this before and untill last week had not even entertained the idea. I just post articles on my mother's forums for public enjoyment.
So here is the one thats won the popular vote - I tried to "freshen" it up a bit with spelling and grammer corrections. (although I'm sure there are still plenty of mistakes).
I'm posting it here at a non-mommy related forum hoping for a bit more "honest" opinion.
So please read and have at it folks. ( I promise not to cry if you think it sucks).

My main questions are:
1. Do you think it is "Parenting Magazine" worthy?
2. am i having paragraph problems?
3. do you feel it's a smooth read?
4. Not set on the title - suggestions welcome!

ok. thanks!
__________________________________________________ _________

Of Toilets and Related Musings.......

by Casandra *blank*

Many years ago I was a Girl Scout. Ohhhh memories. I was a Junior Girl Scout, a Cadet, and a Senior. I earned a lot of badges. One badge that I earned on 2 separate occasions was Childcare... one 3 separate occasions I also earned First Aid. The bulk of "earning" for these badges was nightly classes at the local Red Cross; where I learned a very valuable safety/babysitting/childcare lesson:
When going to the Bathroom take infants and young toddlers with you.

WOW! Such words of wisdom, those were.

Years pass and I faithfully employ this gem with every munchkin I watch and every sibling or cousin I entertain. Until finally, one day, after 5 years of marriage, I have a little munchkin of my own – Isabella. And yes - I take her to the bathroom with me. At first she's strapped to my chest in her sling. Later I drag her down the hall in her bouncy seat, and then she sits in her Bumbo chair. Eventually she's toddling to the bathroom right on my heels.