PDA

View Full Version : Sam Smith:Quietly, Duncan solidifies legend

Gooshie
11-07-2005, 05:40 PM
http://chicagosports.chicagotribune.com/sports/basketball/bulls/cs-051107smith,1,2574592.column?coll=cs-bulls-utility

INSIDE THE NBA Sam Smith
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
On Pro Basketball
Quietly, Duncan solidifies legend

November 7, 2005

It's one of those great nights Monday at the United Center. It's a chance to see a future Hall of Famer and one of the best players in NBA history. And, no, Michael Jordan isn't coming out of retirement again to solve the Bulls' problem at shooting guard.

On second thought . . . nah.

No, it's the Spurs' Tim Duncan, who quietly--and he does everything that way -- is surpassing Shaquille O'Neal as the best at his position today and moving into the top 10 all-time players in the NBA.

"As long as Tim Duncan is around, I'm a pretty good coach," Gregg Popovich likes to say. But Popovich is sincere as well. "This guy has won championships with three different teams," Popovich says, noting the different compositions of the 1998-99, 2002-03 and 2004-05 teams. "He's special."

It's easy to overlook Duncan because he is so effortless -- O'Neal nicknamed him "the Big Fundamental" -- and because he doesn't care for the media and reveals as little of himself as possible. He's a legendary fun teammate, a side never seen by the public or media. Great brooding centers are nothing new. See Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Moses Malone, Bill Russell. If Duncan is considered a power forward, the position he technically plays, he already is the best ever. Forget the Karl Malone-Bob Pettit debate. But Duncan is more a center, granted the most versatile one ever, with post dominance, rebounding, defense and a perimeter game. (He also has the inconsistent free-throw shooting that seems to go with being a center, though he's much better than Russell, O'Neal and Chamberlain and just behind Abdul-Jabbar.)