PDA

View Full Version : By the Numbers

Mavs<Spurs
11-10-2005, 01:33 AM
As a math student, I look at some of our statistics and wonder how we win.

I'm sure I'm not the only person who has noticed this but:

Other teams take a lot more shots than we do. For example, Charlotte took 15 more shots than we did. While we outrebounded them by 6, we committed 8 more turnovers. Plus, it's not like we got to the line a lot more or made a lot of 3s. We shot 1 more free throw and only shot 4 for 13 from the three point line. Charlotte, even though they had only 1 less opportunity, did not convert on their free throw attempts efficiently. If they had, this game becomes a nail biter.

This took place all last year and in the playoffs as well.
With high turnovers and a poor free throw shooting night, if the other team takes a lot more shots than we do, we are putting an enormous amount of pressure on our offense and our defense.

Our shooting percentage must, due to the above factors, be much higher than our opponent's. If it is only slightly better, we lose and there is a chance that we lose badly.

This is a numbers game that does not look very promising. It is very difficult to shoot 10 percent better than your opponent consistently. As I said, it puts so much pressure on both our offense and our defense to be virtually perfect, leaving us almost no margin for error.

:depressed

Comments?

Trainwreck2100
11-10-2005, 01:40 AM
You don't have to be a math person to no missed freebees and turnovers make a win difficult.

Mavs<Spurs
11-10-2005, 01:52 AM
You don't have to be a math person to no missed freebees and turnovers make a win difficult.

True, true.