PDA

View Full Version : Nowitzki's back 'scary,' but Mavs feel relieved

mavsfan1000
11-11-2005, 01:10 PM
Nowitzki's back 'scary,' but Mavs feel relieved

Injury proves to be less severe; Johnson decides if he can go tonight

By EDDIE SEFKO / The Dallas Morning News

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Dirk Nowitzki was walking without a hitch, shooting free throws and exercising on the giant beach ball that helps players with back problems.

And Avery Johnson was exhaling.

He may be a power forward by trade, but he's the center of the Mavericks' universe, and when Nowitzki's strained back – the first significant back trouble of his career – turned out to be less severe than first thought, everybody was relieved.

It's possible Nowitzki could play tonight against the Charlotte Bobcats. If not, he's likely to be available by Saturday in Oklahoma City against the New Orleans Hornets. Either way, it was good news Thursday.

"That's as scary as it gets," Johnson said of seeing Nowitzki hobble to the locker room during a game. "Not saying one player means more to us than another. But especially when you're dealing with a back. You see backs and knees, you get concerned."

Particularly when one of Johnson's best friends, David Robinson, fought back trouble through a large portion of his career.

"That's the first thing I thought about," he said. "Whenever somebody has a back injury, I think about David."

Fortunately for the Mavericks, the news is optimistic for Nowitzki. He had an X-ray, which showed no problem with the spine. He took a muscle relaxer and got a good night's sleep.

And at an afternoon practice at Charlotte Bobcats Arena, he was able to do enough to give him hope of playing tonight. He is officially a game-time decision. If he can't start, Keith Van Horn would.

"It feels a lot better," he said. "We'll see what happens, check it out in the morning and that night, see how it feels."