PDA

View Full Version : Pre-Game Review

Rummpd
12-03-2005, 09:49 AM
www.hoopsworld.com

Last Updated: Dec 3rd, 2005 - 10:02:37

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PreGame Special - Surging Spurs vs. Struggling Sixers
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By Peter Rumm, MD
for HOOPSWORLD.com
Dec 3, 2005, 09:55

First a disclaimer: the Spurs will always be my favorite team since I saw their players frequently coming through the pediatric service of Brooke Army Medical Center where I was a resident in the mid 1980s. Since then, I have followed them with ardor from all over, even catching games at odd hours on international trips to Russia or Lithuania on occasion. I have lived through the highs of three championships but also the lows such as Hakeem Olajuwon and the Rockets coming back from 0-2 in the 95 finals, or Derek Fisher’s cruel and controversial 0.4 dagger in the 03-04 semifinals. Yet, living in Philadelphia the last two years, I have developed some passion for the Sixers, who are a gritty team led by superstar Allen Iverson. That being said I will be rooting for the Spurs tonight (but would not mind if the Sixers made it competitive).

The Sixers and the Spurs are two teams going in different directions right now, as the Sixers after coming back from an 0-3 start with 6 wins to start the season are now sitting in the middle of the NBA pack with a 8-9 record after last night’s two point loss to the surprising Hornets (now 9 and 8 and thriving with their remarkable rookie point guard, Chris Paul).

The Spurs are sitting with a strong 12-3 record, after winning a clutch early season road game versus the Mavericks, 92-90 Thursday night. Recall that the Spurs are tradionally a slow starting team, so watch out NBA!