PDA

View Full Version : Western Conference All-Star Interviews

Kori Ellis
02-17-2006, 11:15 PM
AVERY JOHNSON, Dallas Mavericks
Q. How do you feel about doing this so early in your head coaching career?
AVERY JOHNSON: Again, obviously, we know I'm in my first full year of coaching, and I'm flattered to be here. But again, I've been around the game for 17 or 18 years, so I'm not new to the NBA game. Obviously I'm new to participating in the All‑Star Game. I've been around a few of these All‑Star Weekends, but I'm honored to be here and that our team put us in position to qualify us to come to this game.
Q. How hard will it be to get players to play defensive? Will you even try?
AVERY JOHNSON: I just hope they don't embarrass themselves, and we'll try to help each other a little bit. I'm hoping that the game can be close around the last six minutes of the game, and then we'll encourage them to play some defense then.

For the most part it's a fan's game. The fans are not here for a low‑scoring game. They wants to see the game 140‑145 and hopefully in favor of the West.
Q. Who would you want to have the ball in the final few minutes?

AVERY JOHNSON: I haven't made that decision yet. I haven't made that decision yesterday.

We want to have fun and the local guys, hopefully they will look good. I do feel a sense of responsibility to all of their coaches so. We don't want to overuse anybody. Everybody has been asking me if I'm going to play Elton Brand 48 minutes because we play them on Tuesday. No, none of that. You know, no matter what kind of relationship I have with their coaches, I have a sense of responsibility to try to spread out the playing time.

Hopefully when we leave from here, everybody can leave healthy.
Q. What about your team, what makes you so proud about the team?