View Full Version : Tony Parker IGN interview

ducks
10-11-2006, 11:04 PM
Tony Parker IGN interview.

http://sports.ign.com/articles/738/738455p1.html

Tony Parker Interview
Spurs, speed, and NBA Live.
by Jon Robinson

October 11, 2006 - Tony Parker is walking the streets of Manhattan when he calls. I can hear buses in the background, fans screaming his name, and the hustle of rush hour foot traffic surround him as he tries to make his way back to the hotel.

It was right before he was to fly to France and join the Spurs for camp.

His finger had finally healed enough where he could not only get back to shooting and dribbling in the preseason, but get back to his favorite pastime (other than running from the paparazzi), and that's playing videogames.

Just how much of a gamer is the Spurs guard?

"I've been playing NBA Live since 1995 when it first came out. It's a great way to relax, and I have two brothers, so we're always competing."

But Parker's game rivals aren't limited to family, as the Spurs participate in some high-priced battles on the team plane.

"We have so many trips that we have a PS2 on the plane. A lot of teams do that in the NBA. It's a great way to compete, and there's always money involved. We bet not too small, usually like $300-$400 a game (of NBA Live). Make things exciting," explains Parker. "The most I ever lost was $500. It was a long ride."
Here's what else the Spurs sensation had to say about videogames and the upcoming season.

IGN Sports: Madden has the cover curse, but Live is the opposite now that Dwyane Wade won the title. What does this mean for the Spurs this year since you're featured on the Live cover in France?