PDA

View Full Version : Dear Mr. Smith on Shaq - sent

Rummpd
11-04-2004, 10:46 AM
Dear Mr. Smith :blah :

SICK OF SHAQ!!!!!!!!

I have learned to begin to appreciate your candor, intelligence, and sharp with regarding basketball and deeper issues of life and sport. I have lived many places and also appreciate that you represent Philadelphia where I now live (my brother also helps lead a museum here), and am beginning to truly embrace as one of this nation’s true greatest cities, despite its undeserved reputations.

That being said, I strongly have to challenge you and several other national media calling “Shaq” the most dominant big player in the game since Wilt and “one whose moves strongly shifts the balance”. I suppose I should love him, as I was a football physician at Cole High School in SA, met and admired his father, but even then saw the gross limitations in his game.

Duncan had the right answer to comments on his transfer, i.e., “who cares” ( hint: guess who should be called the 2nd most dominant big last 25 years, after Kareem?

Why is Shaq simply not the “dominant big” you state etc?

Fact: The definite better big in the last 25 or so years = Jabbar, who having seen them all in their primes multiple times = is my best big ever. Kareem Jabbar is not only the leading scorer in the history of the NBA, he won many more MVPs, won championships with multiple teams, led as Lew Alcindor the greatest college team ever, and was a much more unstoppable offensive force. Do you think that Shaq, who is weaker defensively on almost all nights than David Robinson, Akeem or Ewing could stop his shy hook, you don’t seriously?

Fact: Tex Winters recently called Shaq over-rated. This is a very true statement, no other “great” big men since perhaps Russell has ever had less range. Without his patented dip the shoulder and bowl people over Shaq would average < 20 points a game and would foul out of most games.