PDA

View Full Version : Taking someone to small claims court

T-Pain
01-07-2007, 12:56 AM
hey guys, im thinkin about taking my ex-roomate to small claims court because the motherfucker owes me money for two-months worth of gym membership, and a month for June's Time Warner bill. It comes out to a grand total of $148 (yes i know, pitiful), but i want my money because i have to eat too. I even went as far as calling his momma and told her of the situation and she told me she'll pay me what he owes me, but a month goes by, I call her back, and no answer. I tried a few more times, and no answer. Now im pissed and i aint fuckin around anymore, its been over a year he owes me this money. I know this sounds "troll-esque," but Ive been thinkin about this for awhile, and i have never done this before. Do i need a lawyer? is it even worth taking him to court for $148? is it a big hassle? help! thanks.

and yes, Ive learned a valuable lesson over this.

scott
01-07-2007, 12:57 AM
You'd pay more for a lawyer than he owes you. My advice: let it go.

Kori Ellis
01-07-2007, 12:59 AM
You don't need a lawyer for small claims court. But I don't know the cost of filing a small claims case - that, plus your time probably isn't worth $148.

T-Pain
01-07-2007, 01:00 AM
You'd pay more for a lawyer than he owes you. My advice: let it go.
i know, its hard to let it go because im so pissed. he even owes his ex-girlfriend money because she made the mistake of letting him use a cellphone under her name and he never paid the bills.

T-Pain
01-07-2007, 01:03 AM
You don't need a lawyer for small claims court. But I don't know the cost of filing a small claims case - that, plus your time probably isn't worth $148.
yeah i was kinda thinkin the same thing, it just pisses me off because of the fact that i trusted him once and he screws me over like this.

Kori Ellis
01-07-2007, 01:15 AM