PDA

View Full Version : Mavs interested in Gerald Wallace

Ken Loomis
07-01-2007, 05:51 PM
The Mavericks' No. 1 target in free agency? Folks in Dallas might have been expecting Mavs killer Matt Barnes, but I'm told it's actually Charlotte's Gerald Wallace. ...

Surely you haven't forgotten the drill: Teams and free agents can reach verbal agreements at any time in the next 10 days, but new contracts can't actually be signed before July 11 while the league finishes determining the salary-cap figure for next season.

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/columns/story?columnist=stein_marc&id=2922326

A signing like this makes the Mavs so much harder to beat!!

Mr.Bottomtooth
07-01-2007, 06:11 PM
Maybe sign & trade Wallace for $8.5M+Felton for Terry+Buckner+rights to Fazekas? I'm not good at trade scenarios for other teams so give me a break.

jdaveah
07-01-2007, 06:12 PM
Not a chance Charlotte would let Felton go.

mavs>spurs2
07-01-2007, 06:15 PM
Anyone think they are trying to get him as a Josh Howard replacement, if the Garnett rumors are true?

Mr.Bottomtooth
07-01-2007, 06:23 PM
Anyone think they are trying to get him as a Josh Howard replacement, if the Garnett rumors are true?
I would make that assumption as well.

picnroll
07-01-2007, 07:16 PM
Soon to be followed by:

Mavs interested in KG.
Mavs interesteed in Kobe.
Mavs interested in Jermainse O'Neal
Mavs interested in the entire FA class of '08.

mavs>spurs2
07-01-2007, 07:44 PM
I would make that assumption as well.

I mean, what other reason would we need Wallace if we are planning on keeping howard? Wallace is a starter caliber player, I dont see him coming off the bench. And I especially don't see the mavs paying him 10 mill a year to come off the bench. The only explanation I see is the mavs getting ready to move Howard to bring in KG.

picnroll
07-01-2007, 07:51 PM