PDA

View Full Version : Semi-Pro

whottt
02-29-2008, 08:44 PM
I just got back from seeing this.

Well, it's a Will Ferrell movie, there's no doubt about that. If you've seen his movies you know what I am talking about.

But, it's one of his best ones. It is genuinely funny in some moments, and it does do a good job of parodying some of the wildness of the ABA as well as the attitude and music of the mid 70's.

As for the Spurs connection...

The Spurs aren't in the movie till the very end and they are more or less the bad guys(how come we're always the bad guys?). IMO, the team bears little or no resemblance to the actual Spurs of that era....however I am no expert on the ABA or that era of the Spurs, and others might have a better perspective and see more references.

I will say that IMO, Woody Harrelson's character is definitely reminiscent of Larry Brown...right down to the hair.

As for the old Spurs/ABA players in the movie...near as I can tell their scenes didn't make the final cut, and that sucks because I think they would have added something to the movie.

It is a pretty funny ABA tribute/parody, and one of Will Ferrell's best movies, if not the best.

:tu :tu out of :tu :tu :tu :tu

braeden0613
02-29-2008, 08:47 PM
all that and its only a 2 out of 4?

thispego
02-29-2008, 08:51 PM
i thought the funniest part was when the dirty hippy went for the free throw shot from the other end of the court. Jackie Moon interviewed him before the shot and asks him what he does for a living. The hippy thinks about it for a second "ummm nothing right now". hahahahaha

whottt
02-29-2008, 08:51 PM
2/4 is actually a pretty good rating from me for a Will Ferrell movie. I think it might be his funniest one. It's definitely better than Anchorman although I don't know if it will do as well at the box office.

whottt
02-29-2008, 08:52 PM