PDA

View Full Version : Diabetes

Los Spurs
03-21-2008, 01:40 PM
Does anyone here suffer from this illness? and if so, other then medication is there any special foods that can help reduce the high glucose levels?

Sapphire
03-21-2008, 02:09 PM
I'm not a doctor, but you should eat foods that are closest to their natural state as possible, i.e. not processed. You should eat whole grains, fresh fruit and vegetables, lean meats, and usually nothing white such as sugar, flour, white rice. Sorry, but that includes a San Antonio staple, the flour tortilla. :cry

Diabetes is not a death sentence. You can control it and live a full life. You just can't be dumb about it. It's very serious, and you have to make lifestyle changes, but again, you can live many years with it if you take care of yourself.

And don't smoke!!

Shelly
03-21-2008, 02:14 PM
And take care of your feet!

dimsah
03-21-2008, 02:29 PM
Eat more natural foods.
Eat in moderation.
Limit you carb intake which includes alcohol.
Take care of your feet.
Regular physical activity.

Los Spurs
03-21-2008, 02:43 PM
Thank you.

I went to the doctor today and I was diagnosed as a type II diabetic.
I have a prescription for Glucophage. But, when I got to work a lady here tells me to eat a lot of oatmeal and flax seed and in no time my sugar levels should go down.

My sugar levels are at 250 but I hear some people have had it at 500-700. That's scares me!

Sapphire
03-21-2008, 03:18 PM
Thank you.

I have a prescription for Glucophage. But, when I got to work a lady here tells me to eat a lot of oatmeal and flax seed and in no time my sugar levels should go down.

My sugar levels are at 250 but I hear some people have had it at 500-700. That's scares me!
You still need to take your meds, even though your co-worker has probably been to med school, too.

Seriously, do what your doctor says. It's OK to listen to other people, but bottom line, everyone is different and your doctor should know best.

tsb2000