PDA

View Full Version : Ex-Spur Jackson comments.

Useruser666
01-26-2005, 11:35 AM
Well he hasn't learned anything!

"Since the altercation, people are like that was the first time they saw me," says Jackson, who lost $2 million in salary because of the suspension. "I'm a good teammate. I come to play every night. I'm a player who gets better every year. It was like I was a rookie and all of a sudden got in a fight. I've contributed a lot to this league."

Jackson, a second-round draft pick in 1997 by the Phoenix Suns, who waived him, played in the 2001 Rookie Challenge after catching on with the New Jersey Nets. He started 78 games for the San Antonio Spurs' 2003 NBA championship team.

Jackson says he regrets what happened but was just trying to be a good teammate.

"I had no intention of fighting," he says. "My teammates don't make the best decision sometimes. My first thought was, 'Let me get him (Ron Artest) out of there.' Then things started happening so fast. I didn't think. I have to take responsibility for what I did."

Another article:

• Mike Tyson isn't friends with Indiana Pacers Jermaine O'Neal and Stephen Jackson, but that didn't stop him from approaching their table at Prime 112 on South Beach last week and trying to pick up some of the 20 women who were sitting with the NBA players. The women weren't interested in the former champ.

I'm glad Mike Tyson has taken him under his wing.

Spurminator
01-26-2005, 11:46 AM
"I had no intention of fighting," he says. He then added, "That whole Muhammed Ali impression thing on the court was just a joke."

boutons
01-26-2005, 11:52 AM
"Jackson says he regrets what happened but was just trying to be a good teammate."

If wanted to get "Artest out of there", why didn't he go to Artest rather than pounding the shit out of the fans? This is way-after-the-fact cover-his-ass revisionism.

His dumbness on the basketball court extends to dumbness off.