Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 196
  1. #26
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    Ok, then we'll keep it at..

    Cry Havoc

    ..for now
    That really is a chickenshit move by the devs though, since an R9 290 has damn near the horsepower of a GTX 970 and not a piece of crap like the 960.

  2. #27
    Club Rookie of The Year DJR210's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Post Count
    17,758
    That really is a chickenshit move by the devs though, since an R9 290 has damn near the horsepower of a GTX 970 and not a piece of crap like the 960.
    Whats the word on the launch performance of GTA V on AMD cards? I don't recall too much moaning..

  3. #28
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    Whats the word on the launch performance of GTA V on AMD cards? I don't recall too much moaning..
    Not too bad. For a couple of days AMD was actually bundling GTA V with the R9 290 and R9 290x. Kind of surprised to see the GTX 970 outperforming the GTX 780 Ti here.


  4. #29
    🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆 ElNono's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Post Count
    125,285
    I hate their CPUs, at least for gaming. Last good one was Phenom II x4 965 Black back in like 2009.
    I never owned an AMD CPU, tbh, although some of our clients had boxes with them...

    My main beef with Intel was on how inefficient they were power-wise (I'm talking 386, 486, Pentium days here). They always had the raw processing power, but you had a single-core CPU chewing 70W at idle and the fan buzzing like a mother er. Then with the Core2 processors, they added speed-step and that was an improvement, and now the i series is just phenomenal. AMD also copied a lot of that with their PowerNow! tech, but even in their current procs, if you get near 3GHz, you're gonna be hitting 90-100W TDP...

    Now I would agree most people might not give a shit about power and noise, but I do put some value on design improvements like that. When you are surrounded by computers for 8+ hours a day for years on end, you start appreciating the little things like that.

  5. #30
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    I never owned an AMD CPU, tbh, although some of our clients had boxes with them...

    My main beef with Intel was on how inefficient they were power-wise (I'm talking 386, 486, Pentium days here). They always had the raw processing power, but you had a single-core CPU chewing 70W at idle and the fan buzzing like a mother er. Then with the Core2 processors, they added speed-step and that was an improvement, and now the i series is just phenomenal. AMD also copied a lot of that with their PowerNow! tech, but even in their current procs, if you get near 3GHz, you're gonna be hitting 90-100W TDP...

    Now I would agree most people might not give a shit about power and noise, but I do put some value on design improvements like that. When you are surrounded by computers for 8+ hours a day for years on end, you start appreciating the little things like that.
    You should look at the Broadwell i7-5775C or i5-5675C then, since they're 65W TDP. They're supposed to release early next month. I wonder how low they could get the TDP on 14nm Broadwell Xeon E3s without the iris pro graphics.

  6. #31
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    I take that back, the Broadwell i7 is supposed to be $480! And the Broadwell i5 $350. Who is going to pay that just to get ing Iris Pro Graphics when you could get an i7-4771 and an R9 280 for that price?

  7. #32
    🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆 ElNono's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Post Count
    125,285
    You should look at the Broadwell i7-5775C or i5-5675C then, since they're 65W TDP. They're supposed to release early next month. I wonder how low they could get the TDP on 14nm Broadwell Xeon E3s without the iris pro graphics.
    I hear those are more expensive than the Haswell because of the Iris Pro and the eDRAM, it's gonna take some time for the prices to drop. I'm also wondering how they stack up performance-wise against the Haswell, since the released Broadwell processors so far have been underwhelming, IIRC. I suppose they're great overclockers, but I'm not really into that.

  8. #33
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    I hear those are more expensive than the Haswell because of the Iris Pro and the eDRAM, it's gonna take some time for the prices to drop. I'm also wondering how they stack up performance-wise against the Haswell, since the released Broadwell processors so far have been underwhelming, IIRC. I suppose they're great overclockers, but I'm not really into that.
    Do you know if that eDRAM is supposed to be usable as another level of cache when the iGPU is disabled? Because they chopped 2MB of L3 cache off their desktop i5 and i7 for Broadwell.

  9. #34
    🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆 ElNono's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Post Count
    125,285
    Do you know if that eDRAM is supposed to be usable as another level of cache when the iGPU is disabled? Because they chopped 2MB of L3 cache off their desktop i5 and i7 for Broadwell.
    AFAIK, eDRAM is used as a L4 cache, so it's used by both the CPU and IGP. The thing is, CPU caches use SRAM, which is bigger on the die, and thus costlier, and uses more voltage than the actual logic part, increasing thermal and power. Intel has been ing about how SRAM doesn't scale well, with a good chunk of the die nowadays used strictly by caches. DRAM is simply more compact, uses less power, but it needs to be constantly refreshed.

    There's a more in-depth explanation here:
    http://www.eetimes.com/author.asp?doc_id=1323410

    That said, I suspect a good chunk of that eDRAM is likely reserved to cache framebuffer memory for the IGP.

  10. #35
    🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆 ElNono's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Post Count
    125,285
    Also, for Haswell, only parts with Iris Pro have eDRAM... this doesn't seem like it's going to change for Skylake either (although all Skylake parts that include an IGP will be Iris Pro, from what I read)

  11. #36
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    Also, for Haswell, only parts with Iris Pro have eDRAM... this doesn't seem like it's going to change for Skylake either (although all Skylake parts that include an IGP will be Iris Pro, from what I read)
    LOL if Intel has all the overclockers who will never use Iris Pro subsidizing their mobile users by paying for a useless igpu. I have heard the locked i7-6700 and i5-6500 are supposed to have prices more in line with Haswell i7 and i5, but LMAO if they force Iris Pro on the K series. It would be worth it just to hear all the butthurt from everyone who spends out the ass on Z boards, watercooling, and K CPUs for not much performance gain in gaming to have to spend $150 more.

  12. #37
    🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆 ElNono's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Post Count
    125,285
    LOL if Intel has all the overclockers who will never use Iris Pro subsidizing their mobile users by paying for a useless igpu. I have heard the locked i7-6700 and i5-6500 are supposed to have prices more in line with Haswell i7 and i5, but LMAO if they force Iris Pro on the K series. It would be worth it just to hear all the butthurt from everyone who spends out the ass on Z boards, watercooling, and K CPUs for not much performance gain in gaming to have to spend $150 more.
    AFAIK, all the Skylake SKUs they've listed have Iris Pro. Some come with eDRAM and some do not. They probably are going to make the unlocked very premium. At those power/thermal, you can probably overclock the out of those processors.

  13. #38
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    AFAIK, all the Skylake SKUs they've listed have Iris Pro. Some come with eDRAM and some do not. They probably are going to make the unlocked very premium. At those power/thermal, you can probably overclock the out of those processors.
    Might as well go with the 140W enthusiast edition CPUs then for those prices. Maybe that's Intel's strategy though.

  14. #39
    MORE LIFE SOON COME 313's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Post Count
    11,437
    Wow, this is ed that they dumbed down the graphics for PC thanks to console limitations.

    How the PC port looked in their 2013 demo


    How the PC version looks for release in 2015


    More 2013 demo


    And 2015 release
    I don't think they did it just for console players. There are a lot of pc gamers still running with 560s, 7770s, etc etc

    Why release a game that can only run on the highest of end PCs?
    _____________________________
    All of a sudden I'm in the major leagues and we're traveling from town to town. I see the other players dressing different every day. I've got only one suit and I keep wearing it over and over. I'm really embarrassed -- Al Kaline




  15. #40
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    The benchmarks are disappointing as hell for a game that doesn't look that great. Looks like the 290 = 960 rumor is bullshit though.


  16. #41
    Club Rookie of The Year DJR210's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Post Count
    17,758
    The benchmarks are disappointing as hell for a game that doesn't look that great. Looks like the 290 = 960 rumor is bullshit though.

    Well they are running w/ SSAO on which is gonna be as taxing as Ubersampling in the last Witcher.. SSAO looks great, but who seriously uses that shit.

  17. #42
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    Well they are running w/ SSAO on which is gonna be as taxing as Ubersampling in the last Witcher.. SSAO looks great, but who seriously uses that shit.
    Even with it off and HBAO+ on the Titan X is only getting 63.8 fps in that benchmark. I run basically every game I have with ambient occlusion maxed when available (e.g., Dragon Age Inquisition, Dying Light, GTA V, Far Cry 4) and they all run 60 fps on a GTX 970 at mostly ultra settings. I hear HairWorks murders performance too, which is disappointing since AMD's TressFX isn't too big a performance hit on Maxwell.

  18. #43
    Club Rookie of The Year DJR210's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Post Count
    17,758
    Even with it off and HBAO+ on the Titan X is only getting 63.8 fps in that benchmark. I run basically every game I have with ambient occlusion maxed when available (e.g., Dragon Age Inquisition, Dying Light, GTA V, Far Cry 4) and they all run 60 fps on a GTX 970 at mostly ultra settings. I hear HairWorks murders performance too, which is disappointing since AMD's TressFX isn't too big a performance hit on Maxwell.
    Yeah I see that now.. what an unoptimized piece of shit.. and hair tech. Such a minor detail to name a tech over. TressFX looked retarded on TR. It's crazy that 3 years later all these AAA titles still don't look as good as modded Skyrim.

  19. #44
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    Yeah I see that now.. what an unoptimized piece of shit.. and hair tech. Such a minor detail to name a tech over. TressFX looked retarded on TR. It's crazy that 3 years later all these AAA titles still don't look as good as modded Skyrim.
    I kind of liked shampoo commercial mode on TR tbh

  20. #45
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    LOL texture pop in at ultra settings using SLI Titan X


  21. #46
    Club Rookie of The Year DJR210's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Post Count
    17,758
    Wow, that's real annoying. So much for immersion.

  22. #47
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    The PS4 version of this game looks particularly bad. LOL framerates in the teens in cutscenes, in the twenties in gameplay, and all the pop in.



    When did PS4 become the scrub console?

  23. #48
    Veteran baseline bum's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Post Count
    72,904
    Stuttering mess on PC even with a GTX 980 at 1080p


  24. #49
    Club Rookie of The Year DJR210's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Post Count
    17,758
    AMD ethered by Forbes over their crying about Witcher 3

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/jasoneva...ias-hairworks/

    AMD
    they sabatoged our performance
    it's not fair
    forget business and market share, play nice and let us be successful too!!

  25. #50
    MORE LIFE SOON COME 313's Avatar
    My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Post Count
    11,437
    Stuttering mess on PC even with a GTX 980 at 1080p

    Weird, I haven't had any issues so far

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •