My Team
    San Antonio Spurs
    Post Count
    Wednesday, December 15, 2004
    By Jimmy Smith
    Staff writer
    CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- One-quarter of the way through the NBA schedule, injuries have cost 10 Hornets players the equivalent of nearly one full season.

On Tuesday, the injury list swelled even more.

Starting point guard Alex Garcia, who has been playing in place of injured point guard Baron Davis, discovered he has a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee and will miss the remainder of the season.

Garcia, who has recently shared starting duties with Junior Harrington, sustained the injury in Sunday's 88-69 loss at Washington, leaving the game with 8:29 remaining in the third quarter. An MRI done Monday afternoon revealed the damage.

"If I was a doctor," Hornets general manager Allan Bristow said Tuesday, "I'd be making a lot of money right now. You just never know about injuries, but we seem to be getting a rash of them.

"I can't remember a time (in a playing and front-office career that spans three decades) when this has happened. . . . And it just seems to be something else every week."

Since Davis went down with an inflamed disc in his lower back Nov. 12 in the season's second week, the Hornets have lost a player to injury each of the succeeding weeks.

Garcia first went down Nov. 17 with a strained groin, followed by Jamaal Magloire on Nov. 26 with a fractured ring finger. On Dec. 4, David West sprained his knee. Last Wednesday, the Hornets lost Lee Nailon with a groin strain and Matt Freije with a cracked tailbone, though he hasn't missed a game.

"We're getting a little nervous around Thursday and Friday every week," Hornets coach Byron Scott said Tuesday, laughing. "I might give them Thursday off."

Heading into Tuesday night's game against the Bobcats, 10 Hornets players had missed a total of 80 games. The NBA plays 82 games in the regular season.